User Avatar Image

Who is playing the Monkey Island series for first time

posted by shaark on - last edited - Viewed by 290 users
Anything you want to comment on? Your thoughts on the Monkey Island series from the point of view of a newbie?
15 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • pretty sure they are few and far between i have been playing monkey island for nearly 20 years and im only 25
  • Guess most of us are veterans. Old. Bitter. Pig-smellin'.
    :)
    Seriously - my first time was with LCR, long time ago in totally different world. Couldn't understand most of it (hey, I was in my prime school, with one lesson of English a week), used walkthrough, didn't understand most of the jokes, but still loved it.
  • Think new players to MI might get intimidated by your singling out to post. I'm sure there are lurkers around who are playing MI for the first time.
  • Intimidating? Me? But I'm your friend! My name's... :)
    Didn't mean to intimidate anyone. I guess MI community is one of the friendliest and almost everybody's welcome...
  • ...I'm a newbie. A friend said I should buy this, and he's good with choosing good games, so I did.
    Monkey Island is great and funny. I'm sure there's references I'm missing, but it doesn't change the fact the game is awesome.
  • Me! And loving it. However, I also watched a complete playthrough of CoMI and the 5 minute cartoon for SoMI in order to get alot of the in-jokes.
  • Novotnus;166063 said:
    Intimidating? Me? But I'm your friend! My name's... :)
    Didn't mean to intimidate anyone. I guess MI community is one of the friendliest and almost everybody's welcome...
    Just stay away from the insult swordfighters.
  • hplikelike;166126 said:
    Just stay away from the insult swordfighters.
    Well, I am one of those, but I don't bite. In fact, I am glad when I can help with something... if I can, that is. Just don't insult me. ;)
  • Mad Mary;166163 said: