User Avatar Image

Can't win

posted by Azues on - last edited - Viewed by 652 users
So, I don't know too much about poker; though I do know that two pairs beat one pair (Max had one pair and beat me, I had two queens and two fours; he had two queens) and a straight beats a pair (I had a straight 2,3,4,5,6 and strong bad had a pair) but Strong bad beat me again. Wtf? it's only 5 bucks and I mainly got it for Tycho and Max; but c'mon, least make it work.
14 Comments - Linear Discussion: Classic Style
  • User Avatar Image
    Jake Telltale Alumni
    By any chance, was there a side pot going on at the time?
  • Did you match the bet?
  • Yeah there was, and we were both all in.
  • Ah..quick definition of what side pot means and I got it..that's a pretty dirty rule.
  • Wasn't there a pair on the board already?

    EDIT: What? No. Nothing dirty about a sidepot.
  • You can go ahead and close this thread; my bad.
  • User Avatar Image
    HoboStew Telltale Staff
    Yeah, we only announce the winner of the biggest pot. If there is a side pot with a different winner, that wont get called out, but the money should all be in the correct place. You can get into some crazy sidepot situations and we didn't want to spend 10 minutes calling out a bunch of names when the pot resolves, so we took the shortcut of just announcing the winner of the big $$$
  • User Avatar Image
    Jub
    I noticed a few times, it'll announce the winner, but give the pot to somebody else. No sidepot was in play, Max and I were all In, he beat me with a flush, yet pot went my way?
  • I witnessed a very similar situation; I had 2 pair and Max had 1 pair and it announced that Max won. Only the 2 of us were in.

    I was all in, so it sounds like what happens is that I go all in, 2 other players call and they bet. One of them ends up folding, then even though I end up in a 1v1 situation for the remainder of the hand it announces the other player as the winner since he won money from the player who folded earlier.

    This is actually pretty confusing as a player, but I'm not sure how to fix it.
  • frenchtoaster;405983 said:
    I witnessed a very similar situation; I had 2 pair and Max had 1 pair and it announced that Max won. Only the 2 of us were in.

    I was all in, so it sounds like what happens is that I go all in, 2 other players call and they bet. One of them ends up folding, then even though I end up in a 1v1 situation for the remainder of the hand it announces the other player as the winner since he won money from the player who folded earlier.

    This is actually pretty confusing as a player, but I'm not sure how to fix it.
    That's called a side pot. It is in the rules of poker. No fix.
Add Comment