Telltale Autumn Sale

TWD crash on connecting

124»

Comments

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    So is that a "yes, it works by disabling IPv4?"
  • edited January 2013
    Yea, because i have no internet the moment i disable it.

    The game works just like it does when i disconnect network cable (Which is what the protocol is for. The IPV4 protocol is the one answering for the IP recognition and data transfer between two devices. No protocol = No data flow)
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Yes, i know what it does, i just wanted to know if it also makes the crash disappear as expected.

    I would like to try a process monitor log of a crash again, but this time during a clean boot with as little other applications running as possible.
    This time when you save it, please select "All Events". That way i should be able to see much more than the last time.
    Earlier we filtered it, so i could not see what other processes do. Maybe this way i can see something that happens before it crashes, that doesn't happen on my system.

    The file will be big, so i suggest to .zip it.
  • edited January 2013
    These few minutes of loggings are making a file almost a gigabyte big -.-
  • edited January 2013
    Okay, by pre-opening the game i managed to make it 55 MB big... Uploading
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Weird. I only had 50-100MB including the steam start, and that was not even during a clean boot.
    But at least they can be compressed really well.
  • edited January 2013
    Well i picked "All events" - Or did i do anything wrong?

    Edit:
    Gonna re-read the first post you asked me to use it
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Yes, that's the important difference this time.
  • edited January 2013
    Ow, i will re-do it again without saving it as "All events" -.- sorry
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    perilomo wrote: »
    Ow, i will re-do it again without saving it as "All events" -.- sorry

    what, no... "All events" is correct.

    I did another quick test with "all events", and got 275MB, but only 25MB after zipping it. Including steam start up, running TWD, closing TWD.
  • edited January 2013
    So is it bad that i got a 784 MB file the first time i did it?
    Maybe because it was installing windows updates? I dunno, but then after i restarted and launched the game before process monitor - let it idle a bit and started it just to click on "Click here to continue" button - let it crash and then saved it (Which still produced 55 MB)

    Is it bad then?
  • edited January 2013
    Any ways the file is uploaded it is called "Clean boot"
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Yes, the windows updates might have caused that. Please try again after they have finished, and include the startup of the game. The point of the clean boot was to exclude as many other running processes as possible, to keep the log size reasonable and the result readable.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    perilomo wrote: »
    Any ways the file is uploaded it is called "Clean boot"

    Since you already uploaded it, I'll take a look at it anyway.
    You should have zipped the file. Zipped it is only 5MB.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Okay, it would definitely be better to do it again. I can't see which network traffic is caused by TWD, because of what windows update did.
  • edited January 2013
    Oh, but that was already after the update. The first file i did (Right after windows update) was almost 800 MB big

    Edit:
    I will do it again in a moment, just a bit busy
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Thanks for your patience.

    Please Zip the file this time. It reduces the size to about 10%, and makes uploading and downloading much faster.
  • edited January 2013
    Zipped and uploaded - Called "Clean Boot V2"

    Thanks again for your time looking through it
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    I'll look at it soon.

    Can you tell me how long it approximately takes from clicking "click to continue" to the crash?

    I also got another request from TTG:
    Please rename the savegame folder ( %USERPROFILE%\Documents\Telltale Games\The Walking Dead ) so the game doesn't find it, and try starting the game while being connected.
  • edited January 2013
    It takes between 2-5 seconds? And with the batch you taken me it takes about 20 seconds for the game to skip to the main menu.

    Also about the save file - Isn't it the game created the save folder only AFTER i started it for the first time and it wasn't there before i ran it? Gonna do now anyway
  • edited January 2013
    Still crashes - And the game made a new save folder
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Thanks. Taking a break, and then I'll see if i can see something in the new file.
    By the way, impressive that Rar even compressed it to 5%.
  • edited January 2013
    Thanks so much man ^.^ i'll be waiting for more news
  • edited January 2013
    I'll be damned =O

    Updated BIOS and it started to work =O

    Thank you SOOOO MUCH! DjNDB!!! I have no words to thank you enough! For all the guidance, as without it i am most certain i would've broken my PC and wouldn't have got anything to work in the end! Thanks a lot for the effort to help! Works like a charm!
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    perilomo wrote: »
    I'll be damned =O

    Updated BIOS and it started to work =O

    Thank you SOOOO MUCH! DjNDB!!! I have no words to thank you enough! For all the guidance, as without it i am most certain i would've broken my PC and wouldn't have got anything to work in the end! Thanks a lot for the effort to help! Works like a charm!

    That's great. I am glad i could help.
  • edited January 2013
    Can PM me anytime if you need any testings to do ;)

    Aaand if you want i can make a process monitor again just for the sake of comparing... But i believe it would be just useless any ways XD

    Yeah just saying =P
  • edited May 2013
    Digging up this old support thread but my wife is still unable to play. Crashes on clicking continue to play and only works when disabling the internet. I've uploaded a support_data_pc.zip from her machine though.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited May 2013
    halldorr wrote: »
    Digging up this old support thread but my wife is still unable to play. Crashes on clicking continue to play and only works when disabling the internet. I've uploaded a support_data_pc.zip from her machine though.

    So far updating the BIOS helped a couple of people, so i suggest you install the latest BIOS from the Dell website.

    Earlier you said you had two computers with identical hardware. If you also post the dxdiag of the computer it works on i could check if there's any notable difference.
  • edited May 2013
    The one from my computer is here.

    Really hesitant to update the BIOS but I guess if it has to be done...
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited May 2013
    Your both PCs have different BIOS versions.

    Working: BIOS Date: 06/20/11 08:28:53 Ver: 04.06.04
    Broken: BIOS Date: 10/17/11 11:18:49 Ver: 04.06.04

    I would just try installing all BIOS versions from new to old until one works.
  • edited May 2013
    Odd, so she has a newer BIOS date than I do (makes sense since Dell replaced her motherboard once) and it doesn't work. The version numbers appear to be the same though.
This discussion has been closed.