Opinion about the Beast and Bigby fight

I really enjoyed the fight. It was kinda built up to it and I consider it to be the episode's climax. I like that it wasn't too long yet can be disturbingly violent when Bigby stabbed his claws into Beast's eyes. Did anyone else starts hesitating when that happened? I certainly did.

After the episode, I have been wondering to myself on how Beast can transform? From what I know, he can only transform when Beauty is angry or distress I think. After another replay, I did notices that Beauty was rather angry with Beast when he didn't listen to her, so I guess that makes it valid.

What did you all think about the fight? Good or bad.

Comments

  • He becomes beasty when HE is mad,You could see he slowly transformed, First the red eyes and then the horns but it happens when he is under stress

  • Meh. I like what they were trying to do, but I think the execution was flawed. It really didn't feel all that exciting, especially compared to some of Telltale's more recent fight scenes like the Grendel fight in Episode 1 or Clementine dodging bandits in TWD S2E1, which I think really raised the bar in terms of making the fights more dynamic. I was a little hesitant about hitting Beast too much just because I figured they might pull something like in TWD Episode 2 when Lee is punching Andy. So I guess it still says something about Telltale's talent for getting players invested in the story that people take the time to consider that even in the middle of a fight. But all in all, as the final climactic encounter of the episode, it was kind of disappointing.

  • Actually, according to the Fables comic, he transforms when Beauty is angry, this is confirmed in Issue #1

  • I know (Big Comic Fan) but in the game in his stats it says that he transforms when he is mad and the way that scene played out im going with this one it seemed like he was getting more frustrated as the seconds passed

  • His change depends on how strained his relationship with Beauty is or isn't. It isn't just her being angry.

  • Are you talking about the entry? I am fairly certain it mention that he transforms when Beauty is angry at him and that he grows more beastly by the minute. And when the scene played out, Beauty was angry as well.

    There was this one instance where he confronted Jack in the comics where he transformed at will, but that was only thanks to Frau Totenkinder who gave him the ability to control it.

  • In my opinion he transforms both ways,When Beauty is Angry and when he is Angry as well,The way that scene played out it felt like it was more about his anger than beauty's

  • The fight was funny, but seemed too short. What I'm wondering is, who would win in a real fight?

  • If I recall, I don't think there was a clear winner when they fought in the comics. They seem to be pretty closely matched.

  • Beauty was frustrated with Beast, Beast's eyes became red. Beauty became angry that Beast wasn't listening, Beast transformed.

  • edited February 2014

    Alt text

    Rather if both turned into there forms like massive wolf and beast be epic and fought but they didn't so real boring fight sequence might as well be fighting with handbags but grendel fight was epic

  • Telltale dropped the ball with this pillow fight.

  • Yeah, it got broken up by their wives. Neither was getting the best of the other.

  • edited February 2014

    Yes, it was like 2 giant marshmallows fighting each other. Boosh-ba-bum.

  • I thought it was alright. Beast had every right to be angry and if you know his story, he has a short fuse. I love the character Bigby, very well written.

  • Bigby vs Beast just sounds epic. How could Telltale fuq that up

  • edited February 2014

    Maybe they'll possibly redeem themselves with the future episodes? The claws into the eye sockets did come out of nowhere though. Which was surprising in a good way.

  • I think you're certainly entitled to your opinion, but I think most of what the others are saying is right.

    Besides, if Beast could become beastly because (triple alliteration, yowza!) of his own anger/frustration, then what part does Beauty have to play in keeping him good-looking/normal/under-control? It was the love of Beauty that transformed him from his beastly self into what he is now, and it's her growing anger/frustration/distance in that scene that begins to transform him.

    SPOILERS BELOW
    Another point: After he crashes into room 207 and sees the blood, he immediately is overwhelmed, shocked and stops fighting with Bigby. Instead, his attitude towards Bigby changes drastically and makes it look like he's looking to him for some kind of support from the shock of what he's seen. This sudden transformation should have changed him back into his human form immediately (the way Bigby does), but it doesn't. And that's because Beauty is still angry/afraid/frustrated, even more so now that they've broken down the door on her shift. And therefore, you see Beast still retains his horns and his red eyes.

  • I just let him hit me, only react if leads to game over....

  • I though at first when i saw the preview, that Beast will push Bigby to turn into his wolf form. I guess i was disappointed.... The fight was still good, but the execution was flawed. Especially since i knew it was gonna happen when i saw Beauty at the desk. Anyway, we still have 3 episodes ahead of us. I'm sure we'll get more fights.

  • Bigby, he's pretty much the most badass Fable in Fabletown, it's why he became sheriff really

  • Wished i could choose not to gauge his eyes out, sure he seems to recover well enough, but i knew Beast wasnt really pissed with Bigby, he was just pissed. I didnt feel any reason to hurt him, only wanted to defend myself. But no matter what i have to mess him up in order to survive.

  • There is a reason that Beast became Sheriff after him. They have been depicted as equals in the comic.

  • edited February 2014

    Personally, I was heavily disappointed.

    First of all, for the love of... Telltale. Give us at least A LITTLE brancing, PLEASE. Even if you tell Beast the truth, you STILL have to fight him, the scene sporting NO variation whatsoever to the lying alternative.

    I actually vouched to just take all of his hits and do as little damage to him as possible (do nothing until transformation - after you transform into half-wolf form, all failures lead to game overs as always, except for the door bit, so yeah). And yet, no appreciation for my honesty or mercy. My only reward is Beauty's bitching.

    It's just... WHY? The consequences of choices in this episode were written so atrociously that it really just ruined the whole episode for me. In the episode 1 ending preview trailer you could CLEARLY see that the scene was actually supposed to happen outside in the alley and there it didn't seem at all railroady, the beast not catching the two in such a cliche misunderstanding. So we waited for months overtime and got this linear soap opera scene instead. Great.

    ...Sorry, I didn't mean to explode like this. I just really didn't feel like they delivered the "The story will be tailored by how you play" at all here, even if their overall choice morality standards already leave a disappointing taste. But we play with what we have, I suppose. That said, I have absolutely no hype for episode three, which makes waiting for it easy, I suppose. I just hope that it can pleasantly surprise me and revive my interest in the series...

  • Well, I can't say I'm exactly disappointed about it feeling railroaded. As much as I'd like to see more story branching based on character decisions, I don't think it's going to happen any time soon. It's just not how Telltale games work. There may be a few major decisions that have an effect on the story, but even those aren't going to have a huge impact on the overall arc.

    I think what disappointed me more was that it was basically just Bigby and Beast standing there and taking turns slamming each other into the wall. I get why they wanted to confine the fight to that area so they could have Beast knock Bigby through the door to room 207. But compare that to the fights in Episode 1 with Woody and Grendel. Those were pretty much scripted encounters with predetermined outcomes, but it felt more dynamic because they made full use of the environment. There was a lot of moving around. There was a lot of smashing into things. There were a lot of opportunities to grab things that were laying around to use as a weapon. It was almost like playing a fight scene from Indiana Jones (BTW note to Telltale: you guys should totally look into getting the license to do an Indiana Jones game). Now imagine how much cooler the fight with Beast could have been if they had made full use of the environment there. Instead of having them just stand there pushing each other, you could have had them smashing through walls, in and out of the different rooms, grabbing stuff off the furniture, guests running for cover, and still end it with Beast knocking Bigby through the door to 207.

    Anyway, I'm guessing they were probably just pressed for time after the game had already been delayed for four months, so they simply rushed to get something together just to get it out. I'm willing to let it slide this time and hope that they really make up for it with something amazing in Episode 3.

  • It was really cool moment. I didn't expect it and what it happened i was like "oooooooh shiiiiit", and then "BEAST, IT'S NOT WHAT THE HELL YOU THINK, OH GOD, WHY DID THIS HAPPEN"

  • edited February 2014

    I get the feeling they wanted to close this sub-plot early on to make way for other things, but I'll have to see how the rest of the season plays out.

    I would've liked more opportunity to simply dodge or restrain Beast rather than hit him though. I know it was self-defense, but there was an option to take it easy on most characters in episode 2, and Beast was the one of the few people I didn't want to punch. But I ended up gouging out his eyes...

  • I personally thought it was not quite finished. I expected more punching around, maybe break some other door than only 207 (it would have been hilarious if they'd have broken into 203). Though overall the fight is not bad, only I expected more.

  • Well, Bigby didn't really want to fight him, they're friends. It was a misunderstanding. You're not going to see Bigby go full wolf on someone just because of that.

  • edited February 2014

    It was a really good fight, but too easy to Bigby. I think Beast should offer a little bit more of... "challenge", I don't know. The battle of the first chapter was so much better, anyway.

  • They shouldn't of hyped it up in the previews and, gave us a screenshot like it was gonna be something epic.

    "Friend on friend at the end of the end" blah blah blah

  • I thought it was a good fight. I knew something would happen when Beauty was having trouble getting into the room. I was a bit surprised when Bigby jammed his fingers in Beast's eyes, but all in all, a interesting fight.

  • If they had broken into 203, I would have died. It would have been perfect.

  • edited February 2014

    You know what the fight scenes in TWAU makes me miss? The Kenny fight in Long Road Ahead. The way it was tweaked was fantastic.

    You can fight him, or you can talk him down like I did. Best part however is that as a third option you can actually let him vent his anger on you. I really loved that.

    You can probably understand why hearing Kenny's voice through Beast's mouth feels like salt in a wound. Ow ow ow.

  • edited February 2014

    I don't think the scene in itself was terrible, but I do think there could have been more done with the scenario. It kind of came and went.

    The fight with Kenny is a great example. Some form of confrontation with him was inevitable, but you're free to handle it as you see fit. And as different as staying calm and knocking some sense into him felt, both had solid payoffs.

Sign in to comment in this discussion.