User Avatar Image

Sarah's Disability Explained

posted by Pride on - last edited - Viewed by 6K users

I mentioned I was a student of psychology in another thread and someone asked me to try and determine what exactly Sarah's disability was, so I did, because it's kinda cringe-worthy for me for people to assume Sarah was acting "stupid" because "she wanted to" and hate her because of it. Just take this post as some sort of trivia or interesting tidbit to know about her, or something.

Forgive me in advance for my English, since I am not a native.

She seems to have spectrums of anxiety disorder, in particular panic disorder and separation anxiety disorder.

She possesses a number of symptons:

Panic disorder:

• How she freezes up at the sight of danger, has difficulty breathing, speaking and moving is consistent with panic disorder.
  • Her freezing up due to an intense fear of the consequences of "messing up" when she has to do a simple task such as picking berries by herself.
  • Her "flight or freeze" response to a traumatic events, to which she will either freeze up or develop an intense irrational desire to flee the place which the event has ocurred and get as far away from it as possible. This explains why she instantly fled from the scene and was "running through the woods like a maniac" as Luke put it after her dad died, and later on why she froze up when surrounded by walkers at the trailer park.

Separation disorder:

• How she clings to Carlos, and seems to have a small fit every time she is separated from him.
  • How she's contantly paranoid about his safety and that he might not come back when he's away from her
  • How she feels ill when he's not around and keeps repeating "I'm not okay" or "I don't feel well"
  • How she will call for him whenever she feels scared or sad "I want my dad!"