Telltale Autumn Sale

Black Screen on Episode 2 (Mac)

Hey guys,

I've downloaded all the episodes for TWD on my mac which is running Mountain Lion 10.8.2 and I've come across this problem where I am unable to load episode 2, but episodes 1,3,4 and 5 are working perfectly fine.

Basically when i load episode 2, the game is stuck on a black screen and won't go any further.

If anyone can provide any assistance it would be of great help to me :)

THanks in advance

Comments

  • edited January 2013
    Do you have this every time you start the game?
    I had the same problem with another episode, but I just (hard) quit the game and restarted. Afterwards it worked just normally.
  • edited January 2013
    Hey there,

    thanks for your reply. Unfortunately, it happens every single time and its always only episode 2.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Does it also happen if you start Episode 2 on a new save slot with random choices?
  • edited January 2013
    DjNDB wrote: »
    Does it also happen if you start Episode 2 on a new save slot with random choices?

    thanks for your reply. Yes ive tried both ways (i.e starting a new game from episode 2 itself and continuing from an original save state but both were to no avail).

    Hope this can be sorted out in some way
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    It's possible that your issue is caused by having multiple prefs.prop files, which sometimes happens for unknown reasons.
    There should be only one prefs.prop, and that's in the savegame folder:
    ~/Library/Application Support/Telltale Games/TheWalkingDead/

    Please check if there are additional prefs.prop files in the install folder or its subfolders.
    If so, make a backup copy of the prefs.prop and delete it from the install folder.

    If that doesn't help, make a backup copy of the savegame folder's prefs.prop, and then try copying the install folder prefs.prop to the savegame folder.
  • edited January 2013
    DjNDB wrote: »
    It's possible that your issue is caused by having multiple prefs.prop files, which sometimes happens for unknown reasons.
    There should be only one prefs.prop, and that's in the savegame folder:
    ~/Library/Application Support/Telltale Games/TheWalkingDead/

    Please check if there are additional prefs.prop files in the install folder or its subfolders.
    If so, make a backup copy of the prefs.prop and delete it from the install folder.

    If that doesn't help, make a backup copy of the savegame folder's prefs.prop, and then try copying the install folder prefs.prop to the savegame folder.

    Thanks for the reply. But unfortunately, the problem still persists.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Jitto23 wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply. But unfortunately, the problem still persists.

    Please give some more feedback. Did you find prefs.prop files in the install folder?
  • edited January 2013
    DjNDB wrote: »
    Please give some more feedback. Did you find prefs.prop files in the install folder?

    Hey there. I did find the prefs file on the save game folder found in application support and it there was only one and it was in the walking dead 1 folder. And I also checked for the package contents of the thewalkingdead game and there weren't any there either. Eventually did a search too and came to teh conclusion that there was only that one file.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Alright. We need to try to narrow down the problem.
    Let's start a little test to see if your savegames are causing the problem.

    Please move the prefs.prop and all .save files out of the savegame folder ( ~/Library/Application Support/Telltale Games/TheWalkingDead/ ) to a location you'll remember, so you can recover them later.

    Then try starting Episode 2 with random choices.
  • edited January 2013
    Hey there, just tried starting episode 2 with random choices and still it shows up the black screen, with all save files transferred to another location
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    That's odd.
    We need to try a more extreme approach to see if there's any way to get it working.
    Please copy them back to the savegame folder, so we don't forget that later.
    Then rename the entire savegame folder.

    You'll have to download Episode 2 again, but that's intended.
    Then try if you can start it.
  • edited January 2013
    I downloaded the game again and surprisingly this time it worked. Cheers for that :) (NO MORE BLAKC SCREENS!!! YAY)
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    That's awesome. Does it still work if you copy your prefs.prop and all .save files into the new savegame folder?

    Just out of curiosity, because i don't know why it was broken:
    I just noticed in your earlier post that you initially had download problems. Did you use any workarounds?
  • edited January 2013
    Hey there, thanks for the help again. The game did still work when i transferred all my save files to their original location.

    Yes i at an earlier stage i did come across download issues however this was rectified when a patch was released at the time.
This discussion has been closed.