Telltale Autumn Sale

Episode 2 black screen

I bought the game off steam and finished episode one, but when i try to start episode 2 all i get is a black screen with the inventory slot of an axe on the side. I can move the mouse around and can hear sound but can't do anything.

Comments

  • edited January 2013
    I have this exact same problem!
  • edited January 2013
    I click to play episode 2 and all I get is a black screen. The white icon of the fireaxe is on the left of the screen and music is playing. Nothing happens whatsoever.

    Playing a Steam download on Mac. Seems a lot of people are having trouble playing this game on Mac!
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    I merged your threads.

    It's possible that your issue is caused by having multiple prefs.prop files, which sometimes happens for unknown reasons.
    There should be only one prefs.prop, and that's in the savegame folder:
    Win Vista/7: %USERPROFILE%\Documents\Telltale Games\The Walking Dead
    XP: %userprofile%\My Documents\Telltale Games\The Walking Dead\
    Mac: ~/Library/Application Support/Telltale Games/TheWalkingDead/

    If you run TWD in compatibility mode for win95 or win98/me it might save to:
    %PUBLIC%\Documents\Telltale Games\GameData
    or
    %PUBLIC%\Documents\Telltale Games\The Walking Dead


    Please open the games install folder.

    To find the install folder from within Steam, Right click "The Walking Dead" and select "properties".
    Then open the "Local Files" Tab. There select "Browse local files"

    Please check if there are additional prefs.prop files in the install folder or its subfolders.
    If so, make a backup copy of the prefs.prop and delete it from the install folder.

    If that doesn't help try the steps below.

    If you are playing through steam, you first need to disable steam cloud for TWD (In Steam, right click TWD and select "properties". Open the tab "updates" and remove the checkbox from "Enable Steam cloud synchronization for TWD").

    Then make a backup copy of the savegame folder's prefs.prop, and then try copying the install folder prefs.prop to the savegame folder.
  • BeanzillaBeanzilla Banned
    edited January 2013
    Can you give a detailed explanation on how to do the second and third part? I'm using a mac and cannot seem to find the install folder.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Beanzilla wrote: »
    Can you give a detailed explanation on how to do the second and third part? I'm using a mac and cannot seem to find the install folder.

    Are you playing on steam?
    I just updated the instructions for steam above to be platform neutral.
  • BeanzillaBeanzilla Banned
    edited January 2013
    yes i am, but there is no prefs.prop file in the install folder.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    I assume you checked all of its subfolders too?
  • BeanzillaBeanzilla Banned
    edited January 2013
    yes, this is all that came up

    http://postimage.org/image/dvkky5z9t/
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    I am not really experienced with Macs, but i think you should be able to open the TheWalkingDead with the icon on the right side like a folder to check in there too.
  • BeanzillaBeanzilla Banned
    edited January 2013
    it just launched the game. is there a way i could delete everything? so it could be like i just installed it for the first time?
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Renaming the savegame folder
    ~/Library/Application Support/Telltale Games/TheWalkingDead/
    should be enough.

    You can then check if you can start Episode 2 with random choices to see if it helped.
  • edited January 2013
    I am also using Steam and am relatively experienced with Macs (though I am no expert!). I am only able to do what Beanzilla has been able to do, and his screenshot is an identical representation of what I see in my "Steam/TheWalkingDead" folder - "TheWalkingDead.app" on it's own.

    There is no prefs.prop file.
  • edited January 2013
    DjNDB wrote: »
    Renaming the savegame folder
    ~/Library/Application Support/Telltale Games/TheWalkingDead/
    should be enough.

    You can then check if you can start Episode 2 with random choices to see if it helped.

    Just to be clear, there is no save game folder and the directory quoted doesn't exist.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Kalian wrote: »
    I am also using Steam and am relatively experienced with Macs (though I am no expert!). I am only able to do what Beanzilla has been able to do, and his screenshot is an identical representation of what I see in my "Steam/TheWalkingDead" folder - "TheWalkingDead.app" on it's own.

    There is no prefs.prop file.

    I've checked that now. You should be able to browse the TheWalkingDead.app. Just right click (or CTRL click) on it and select "Show package contents".
    Please look for a prefs.prop in TheWalkingDead.app/Contents/Resources and its subfolders.
    Kalian wrote: »
    Just to be clear, there is no save game folder and the directory quoted doesn't exist.

    That's odd. I haven't seen anyone with a different savegame folder location.
    Have you tried opening it by pasting the path into Finders "Go to folder" function? (Go/Go to Folder... or CMD-SHIFT-G)
  • edited January 2013
    Yeah, it's just my inexperience with Macs shining through. Ok I've right-clicked it and opened up the "Contents/Resources/Pack/Default" folder and successfully found the "prefs.prop" file.

    Sorry, what am I doing with it now?
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Move the prefs.prop out of the package, and try if you can start Episode 2.
  • edited January 2013
    done it, didn't work. Sorry!
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Okay, there's something else you can try.
    Navigate to the savegame folder. Make a backup copy of the prefs.prop that's in there, and then replace the original with the prefs.prop from the package.
  • edited January 2013
    where would I find the savegame folder, moving prefs.prop out of the package did not work
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    You can navigate to the savegame folder by starting Finder, and selecting "Go/Go to Folder..." from the menu or pressing CMD-SHIFT-G, and pasting the path below into it.
    ~/Library/Application Support/Telltale Games/TheWalkingDead/
  • edited January 2013
    Ok, have done this and removing the prefs.prop file has stopped episode 2 from crashing to a black screen on launch.

    However, it's also introduced a new problem - it now freezes and is entirely unplayable at the point where you have to cut the teachers leg off.

    Not impressed with TTG here. Thanks for your time tho DjNDB
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Kalian wrote: »
    However, it's also introduced a new problem - it now freezes and is entirely unplayable at the point where you have to cut the teachers leg off.


    I've seen some reports of the leg chopping freeze, but no real solution. Some have worked around it by not cutting it at all.
    One user was able to cut it, after he deleted the install files of Episode 2, and downloaded them again.
    That wasn't on the Steam version though.

    I would start with verifying your game cache files.

    If that doesn't work, try deleting the Episode 2 files and downloading them again.
  • edited January 2013
    Honestly, all I want now is a refund, or a free xbox 360 DL version. I shouldn't have to do all this crap, nor should you.
  • edited January 2013
    Question: If I downloaded this game from steam on Mac, can I download it on PC as well without paying any extra? Don't worry if you don't know!
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    Kalian wrote: »
    Question: If I downloaded this game from steam on Mac, can I download it on PC as well without paying any extra? Don't worry if you don't know!

    That should work.
  • edited January 2013
    DL now. If it does, I think I'll laugh!
  • edited January 2013
    Well, there we have it. My laptop (windows) is much less powerful than my iMac and is incapable of running the game at its lowest setting... Grrr!
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited January 2013
    You could run Windows on your Mac using Boot Camp.
  • edited January 2013
    Yeah but then don't I have to buy a new copy of windows? It'd be cheaper just to buy TWD from xbox live, but I don't really want to give them more money for a glitchy game!
This discussion has been closed.