Telltale Autumn Sale

The Walking Dead crashing on launch.

Bought and downloaded the game from Steam, downloaded and installed today without any problems at all. However, when I launch the game, the screen turns black to go into the game for a second then goes back to my Steam library with the usual Windows dialogue box "The Walking Dead101.exe has stopped working." appears. That's all that happens, and I can't play the game at all...

Comments

  • edited March 2013
    Here is the crash details for additional information. Is there a fix available?
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    Please try the suggestions from the support FAQ.

    If it still crashes afterwards, please follow the instructions to run the Support Tool and attach the resulting "support_data_(pc|mac).zip" to your next reply in this thread.
  • edited March 2013
    I believe I've done everything correctly.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    You only uploaded the data.txt file. please upload the support_data_pc.zip.
  • edited March 2013
    Apologies.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    Please try if deleting the prefs.prop from "C:\Users\Paul\Documents\Telltale Games\The Walking Dead" helps.

    Please also try if you can start the game, if you disconnect from the internet.
  • edited March 2013
    No sorry, neither of those work. I turned off my network connection completely, and tried then. I even exited and restarted Steam, and tried running the game in offline mode. Still the exact same problem as detailed above in the original post. However, I've noticed that the prefs.prop file keeps returning to the folder I delete it from. Is this normal?
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    Yes, the prefs.prop is supposed to return. We just had to rule out it is corrupted.

    At what point does the crash occur, before or after the "click to continue" screen?
    What security software do you have running?
    Does it still crash if you press Alt-Enter to put the game into windowed mode?
  • edited March 2013
    I've never seen a "click to continue" screen before, so before that. The game crashes literally just a second, maybe two seconds after the screen turns black as the game launches...
    McAfee is my security software.
    Yes it still crashes even when I press Alt-Enter to put the game into windowed mode, though nothing happens as the game doesn't get the chance to go windowed. It crashes practically immediately.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    I see. I don't know the cause yet, but i have some things you can try, one after the other.

    - Running the game during a clean boot (see below). This should also disable your McAfee software, if it doesn't, try doing that manually.

    - Disconnecting all non essential USB devices and the "Razer Mamba Charging dock" from your Laptop

    - Uninstalling the "MotioninJoy Virtual Game Controller"

    - Updating your Laptop's BIOS


    Booting clean in Windows Vista / 7:
    1. Click Start --> Type msconfig --> Press Enter
    2. On the General tab, choose Selective Startup
    3. Uncheck Load Startup Items
    4. Select the Services tab
    5. Check Hide all Microsoft services
    6. Click Disable all
    7. If running the game on Steam, re-check the "Steam Client Service"
    8. Click on OK
    9. Click Restart.
    10. After reboot, run the game to see if it works.

    After performing the necessary steps, restore your settings by doing the following:

    1. Click Start --> Type msconfig --> Press Enter
    2. On the General tab, choose Normal Startup
    3. Click Ok
    4. Click Yes, when asked to restart your computer
  • edited March 2013
    Sorry, that was still unsuccessful. The same problem as always is still happening.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    Please try if you can install the latest AMD graphics driver.

    Completely uninstalling and reinstalling the game is also worth a try.

    If that doesn't help, we can try to find out when it crashes by monitoring what the process does.

    Please start your system into a clean boot again and don't start any other applications.
    Now start process monitor.
    Then immediately try starting the game again. Process monitor will log what the game does while it tries to start. Once the games .exe is closed (you can check in the Task manager), press CTRL+E in process monitor to stop event capturing. Then save the process monitor log (in the menu select "file/save", choose "All Events" and "PML Format", and choose a location).
    Finally .zip the PML file (which will reduce the size significantly), and upload it to an instant filehoster and post the download link.
  • edited March 2013
    I can't seem to be able to update my drivers with AMD's Mobility drivers as my laptop is incompatible for some reason, saying that I need to update with the manufacturer. So I've gone to Alienware/Dell and tried updating with them, but I'm having a difficult time with them.

    So I've gone on ahead and uninstalled and reinstalled the game but that hasn't helped. So here's the download link for the process monitor's "Logfile.zip":

    http://wikisend.com/download/573448/Logfile.zip
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    It took a while to dig through the file, but i think i found a possible problem.

    The game uses the intel graphics chip, as opposed to your AMD chip (It loads igdumdx32.dll and other intel driver files shortly before it crashes).
    Integrated intel graphics chips often don't work well with TTGs games.

    Please check the AMD CCC settings and make sure the game is forced to use the AMD chip.
  • edited March 2013
    Well The Walking Dead is somehow, for some reason working now. The game is playable and I even completed the first episode. However, the game runs rather laggy at fullscreen and at the highest resolution and graphics settings. Also, every single one of my other games that are more taxing on my system are nearly unplayable! I don't know what's happened. Somewhere along the line there, a setting has changed. I think it may be that my computer is running off my integrated Intel graphics chip, not my AMD card. I've been seeing a new icon in my taskbar which tells me that my Intel chip is running. Why has this happened?
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    What did you change since the last time you tried?
  • edited March 2013
    I'm really not sure. I tried updating my Intel integrated chip, but it doesn't seem to want to update. It keeps asking to verify, although on the Dell website it already verifies my computers service tag. It reads my system and can read my graphics card but still won't update the driver. I'm pretty sure I also tried to uninstall/reinstall ATI Radeon Mobility driver and the Catalyst Control Centre, but I can't find the CCC. It installs but I can't find it on my computer at all.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    You can try pressing FN + F7 to switch between intel and AMD graphics. I would also try clicking (left or right) on the tray icon you found to see what options that gives.

    In case your AMD driver is not intalled correctly, this AMD Graphics driver should work on your system, and it should contain the AMD CCC.
  • edited March 2013
    When I press FN + F7 it comes up with a message asking me whether I want to turn on switchable graphics. I click yes but nothing happens. I already knew what FN + F7 does, and it always used to work. I don't even think I can switch to my AMD graphics. I also installed the driver in the link you provided, but it was for the 6970M graphics card, and I have the 6990M card. I also have the 6990M driver installed by the way. But either way, I still can't find any Catalyst Control Centre. I unzip the download to a location and it automatically starts the installer for the Catalyst Install Manager. I click install, express install, then accept to the terms and conditions and it installs. I've attached the last page of the installer, and the Log as well.
  • edited March 2013
    Oh and I go to the installation folder (C:/Program Files/ATI Technologies) and there is nothing in there...
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    If you can't get it fixed by uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers, you can check if reverting to a system restore point before the change is an option.
  • edited March 2013
    Sorry I haven't replied sooner, I've been away most of the week.
    I tried a system restore, but could only restore to a point as far back as the 19th of March, well after I first had problems, and nothing has changed.
  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited March 2013
    Have you tried completely uninstalling all graphics drivers and installing them from the DELL website?

    If that doesn't fix the problem, and you don't find any other solution, you can backup all your data and use your laptops restore feature.
  • edited March 2013
    Yeah I have now uninstalled any and all graphics drivers I could find, both Intel and AMD. I then reinstalled the drivers applicable to my computer from the Dell website, and restarted my PC. It didn't work, The Walking Dead was still laggy as even on low settings, as well as every other game I have, so I tried to uninstalling the driver again. After restarting my computer for the second time, it seemed to work. TWD runs perfectly smooth on its highest settings, as well as everything else! I don't know what happened the second time, but perhaps the only difference was that I checked in device manager under Display Adapters that both my AMD card and integrated Intel card were there. I noticed that the AMD card was missing when I had problems, which made me think my computer couldn't see that it was there.... I've even waited a few days to see if problems arose again, but it seems to have fixed itself for good now, hopefully. So thank you for your help DjNDB!!! :D
This discussion has been closed.