Walking Dead does not run

edited October 2013 in Game Support

Hi I played the game for like 5 hours and some minutes ago i wanted to start the game... the game openes says:"click to continue" i click the it´s connecting, and i cant get to the menu like it just stopped , I can hear the sound ... some birds but I cant get to the menu cant do anything.
I uninstalled it three times still same problem.

Can somebody help me?

«13

Comments

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited October 2013

    There appears to be some server problem.
    It should work after letting it sit for a few minutes.
    If you don't want to wait, please try disconnecting from the internet before starting the game.

  • Yeah it worked thank you!

  • I have the same problem.

    If I leave the loading screen for several minutes I eventually get to the main menu. However, the saved games are not available and I have to start every chapter from the scratch. Could you please fix the server problem or find a workaround for the game? The game crashes if you try to start it without internet connection instead. Not even an error message is thrown. This seems to be a quite poor design...

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    I have notified TTG about the connection issue as soon as it came up, so hopefully it will be fixed soon.

    The crash and savegame issue are something else though and should be examined further.
    Please follow the instructions to run the TWD Support Tool and post the download link to the resulting "TWD_support_data_pc.zip" or "TWD_support_data_mac.zip" to your next reply in this thread.

  • The PC file is posted here:
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/2vm48a
    However, I ran it (until it stated that it finished the process) and my savegames are not recovered. The connection issue is fixed though. What to do next to recover the savegames?

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    I don't see anything unusual about the save files.

    The installation looks unfamiliar to me though. Where did you buy the game and is it a disc or download version?

    If you .zip and upload your prefs.prop and *.save files i can take a look at them.
    Please upload it as a single .zip file to an instant filehoster and post the download link.

  • im playing walking dead on iphone 5 ios 7 its not working after i buy eposoid 2

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    Sadly i don't know much about iOS, so i can't help. I suggest you write an E-mail to support@telltalegames.com.

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator
    edited October 2013

    It shows me 3 save slots.
    1. Episode 1
    2. Episode 3
    3. Episode 3
    If that's what you had, than at least your progress is not lost.

    I don't know why they would not show up in your game though. Do you run the game in compatibility mode or any other settings?

  • Well, I paid for the episodes pack for The Walking Dead, and have a receipt to prove it. I downloaded the extra episodes and installed them. But they don't run, no matter what I do. Phone support went through the trouble-shooting routines that I had already tried. No luck. Worse, the icon has disappeared and on downloading another from the cloud I only get the original come-on, inviting me to cough up for episodes 2 - 5! Now I would like a refund but I don't know where to apply. Apple support either does not know or does not want to tell me where to apply. (I was using the latest iPad with the most recent system update (23 Oct 2013). Can anyone please help?

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    I wish I could help, but I know next to nothing about iOS.

  • I'm having a similar problem to the fella in the orginial post except I can't get the game to start at all. After the logo screen I get the Walking Dead click to continue screen. I click on it and nothing happens. Like the orginial post I can hear the flies buzzing about, but the program just sits there.

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    If you have not run it before, the game silently downloads about 40MB of updates at the beginning, which can take a few minutes.

    If it doesn't resolve that way, please follow the instructions to run the Support Tool and post the download link to the resulting "TWD_support_data_pc.zip" or "TWD_support_data_mac.zip" to your next reply in this thread.

  • I'm afraid that isn't working either. The file downloaded and unzips. But when I click on the batch file I get a message asking me to unzip the entire archive before running the batch file. I assume I downloaded everything when I clicked on the support tool. The files in the folder are 7za, 7-zip, license, readme and TWD_create_support)_data.

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    That sounds like during unzipping it didn't keep the original folder structure. Normally it does that. What did you unzip it with?

    Either way, all files except the TWD_create_support_data.bat are normally in a subfolder named "7z". It should be enough to create that folder and move the 7za.exe there.

    \TWD_create_support_data.bat
    \7z\7-zip.chm
    \7z\7za.exe
    \7z\license.txt
    \7z\readme.txt

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    I don't see anything unusual in the data. What happens if you press Alt-Enter to put the game into windowed mode while you only hear the sound?

  • Okay, just tried that. No change. I can hear the sound the nothing happens.

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    Does it just keep showing "click to continue" after you click?

    Maybe we should just try some things.

    Please delete the savegame folder:
    C:\Users\badhorse1\Documents\Telltale Games\The Walking Dead

    Card name: ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
    Driver Date/Size: 4/20/2011 02:07:48, 795648 bytes

    Please also try installing the latest graphics driver (not the beta)

  • [removed]

  • I left a reply here yesterday, or at least I thought I did. In any case I did as requested, no change. This is getting rather frustrating. It's been a few days now and I haven't even gotten to the menu yet. I know you are trying and I appreciate your help.

  • Me too. Exactly the same problem. I was able to play a little bit the other day, but that's it.

    I hope someone is reading these posts.

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    Let's try something else to rule out a bunch of things.

    Please create a new windows user account (with administrator privileges) and test if the game starts there.

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    Please follow the instructions to run the TWD Support Tool and post the download link to the resulting "TWD_support_data_pc.zip" or "TWD_support_data_mac.zip" to your next reply in this thread.

  • this is the second time I've left a comment and the next day it wasn't there.
    The new user account did the same thing.

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    I've heard about that before. Has to be a forum bug.

    Okay, then that's a weird issue and we should try something different.
    Please uninstall, redownload and reinstall the game and test it.
    Then please unplug all non-essential USB devices before starting the game again. If that also fails, please start the system into a clean boot and try starting the game.

    Booting clean in Windows Vista / 7:
    1. Click Start --> Type msconfig --> Press Enter
    2. On the General tab, choose Selective Startup
    3. Uncheck Load Startup Items
    4. Select the Services tab
    5. Check Hide all Microsoft services
    6. Click Disable all
    7. If running the game on Steam, re-check the "Steam Client Service"
    8. Click on OK
    9. Click Restart.
    10. After reboot, run the game to see if it works.

    After performing the necessary steps, restore your settings by doing the following:

    1. Click Start --> Type msconfig --> Press Enter
    2. On the General tab, choose Normal Startup
    3. Click Ok
    4. Click Yes, when asked to restart your computer
  • It's working. After I left the prior message, I just went on about my buisness for awhile. Thought I would try one more time before shuting down the computer and the darn thing works. I am glad I didn't have to attempt your last instructions, they look kinda icky. In any case, don't know what you did or how you did it, but I made it to the game. One question, is their a Save Game key or just the auto save?
    Thanks for all your help. I really appreciate it.

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    The game saves automatically at certain points. There is no manual saving.

  • edited November 2013

    If you have not run it before, the game silently downloads about 40MB of updates at the beginning, which can take a few minutes.

    THANK YOU! This helped solve my issue.

    I was so confused and kept restarting the game because I thought it had stalled.
    I waited and after a little while it started right up. So glad I came here to look for help.
    Even better, I saw this post and didn't have to make the thread I was about to.

  • after it asked me to login inside the game all I saw was the logo and thats it..any1 know what the problem is and how can I fix it?

  • On my OS 10.9 the game just crashes and then the OS asked me to put the game into the trash. What is up? Any help?

  • Same here..... I have attempted to use the mac support tool and also I have uninstalled and installed... nothing ...
    is Mavericks compatible?

  • After going through the first free episode, I purchased the entire remaining episodes on my ipad mini. From that point on, I can't open the game anymore. I did all the usual resets and reinstalls but still nothing. From the comments here, they don't support ipad, iPhone or the like. Extremely frustrating as I like the game. I immediately sent iTunes an email and they refunded my money right there. Thank goodness for that. There seems to be MANY similar issues with downloading the other episodes and then the game doesn't work. Telltale should pull the game if it doesn't work. That's all I have to say. Save your money until they fix it

  • Hi Support Team,

    after I startet episode 2 the game crashed to desktop. Now it wont start any more. I googled the problem and it seem as if many people have this problem. I already tryed to reinstall, to check the cache over steam, to launch it as admin. Nothing worked.

    i also used the TWD support tool... here's the link:
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/903vo3

    hope u can help me!

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    Problemsignatur:
    P1: WalkingDead101.exe
    P4: DINPUT8.dll

    Unplugging your gamepad should help. It's a Windows 8 bug that's fixed in Windows 8.1, available for free in the Windows 8 Store.
    If you don't want to upgrade yet, you can try an unofficial workaround. In short, by downloading and extracting this zip file, and copying the dinput8.dll next to the WalkingDead101.exe, you should be able to use the controller normally. Make sure you delete that dinput8.dll after updating to Windows 8.1, to avoid possible problems in the future.

  • I also have a similar problem with trying to play the game.Every time I try to continue my game and click play for episode 2 all it does is bring me to a black screen with only my mouse.All I can do is move it around and that's it.

    I've also used the TWD support tool: http://www.sendspace.com/file/75dcrz

    I've tried fixing it myself before which could have messed up some of the files.

  • DjNDBDjNDB Moderator

    Please rename the prefs.prop in
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\The Walking Dead\Pack\default
    to prefs.prop.bak to deactivate it.

  • That seems to have fixed it. Thank you for your help.

This discussion has been closed.